Another due date double header

IMG_7700
Black-Tailed Prairie Dog

Another week has been and gone with the workload remaining constant, another 2 assignments were due this week. Firstly Image Editing outcome 1, now this was a slog of an assessment. Having to watch 10 YouTube videos of advanced image editing on photoshop, then bullet point the main stages with screenshots on a word doc. Sounds easy enough but it was tedious at times, watching and listening while taking notes then typing it up. I found myself scribbling my notes resulting in having to watch videos over and over and over, wasting valuable time. It passed in case you were wondering.

Next was my fashion outcome 1 hand in, this is an area of photogrpahy I struggle with I can’t lie. As much as I’m a confident person, I struggle to direct a model. Having avoided it in the past I know it cant continue,  this is a subject I will need to pass to gain my HND so I have little choice but to get stuck in. Having handed in my 10 research images and passing this first stage, I hope to finally get the hang of it all by sheer practice. I have booked the studio for this Thursday and will continue to work hard in this area.

Now if you can still spare a few’ minutes i’ll run over the rest of my week.

Monday I decided to nip out to the Five sisters Zoo in West Calder to grab some natural history images, covering part of my Photojournalism course it was a bonus but also provided more experience in this field. I immensely loved my day out and couldn’t believe the amount of animals of show. I will defiantly be joining one of their photographer days, allowing better access to the animals.

Wednesday I ended up covering The Big Bang event at New College Lanarkshire. The STEM event introduces school pupils the variety of courses available within the campus. The event was opened my Boyd Tunnock CBE who enjoyed a tour of the buildings during his visit.

BigBangEvent031018_003
Boyd Tunnock @ the STEM Event

Thursday was our first pressure project set by Lewis, a location fashion based shoot. Working as part of a team we had a location and model sorted in advance. Then late on Wednesday evening the model cancelled, plans up in the air panic ensued. Having some friends already on standby for such an instance I had to hastily rearrange what I has planned. Using a get out of free jail card so soon is gutting but I couldn’t return with no images. I felt my day went well , a shoot in Lebowski’s in Glasgow then down to the tall ship at the transport museum. Sadly after showing my wife my images it appears I know absolute hee haw about being a fashion photographer, even an untrained eye ripped my images to shreds. I sold the model not the outfit, it totally knocked my confidence hearing it all, but its the truth. I see all my errors now, at the time I was just so fixated in getting a shot I ended up basically getting feck aw. My model was stunning, my images are mince its that simple. I need to up my game with this one.

that’s more than enough from me today

thanks for your time once again

Craig

 

Published by Craig J Murray

HND Photography student @ New College Lanarkshire. Looking to blog about some of the Blood, sweat, tears and fun involved as I progress through my course.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started