Wrong side of the camera

meI often sit at night, usually after a long day of photography based activity and look back over what I have been up tae,  reflecting on what I have done or achieved in the previous days or weeks. At times I actually cringe at my errors, faults, and pants images. Sometime I’m mildly happy but not often. Regardless of any temporary negativity I’m amazed at how far I have come on my adventure with New College Lanarkshire. After leaving school with basically hee haw, here I am still plodding along . One day I’m at Toryglen covering football, the next I’m inches from a moto x bike landing a jump in front of my coupon. Other day’s for example I have the privilege to be involved in a fashion masterclass/shoot in the stunning 18th century former hunting lodge at Chatelherault Country Park. The whole day flew past before we knew what had happened, we didn’t even stop for lunch we were all so involved. It’s hard to describe the scenes as so many students packed the rooms, taking advantage of a variety of locations within the building. Many of the us in swanky evening dress/suits as we jumped from taking images to modelling, trying to make the most of our time. I will share the images from my camera next post.

Back in my more familiar environment of sports photography I have slowly been building up a nice selection of images, the wide range of sports helps me learn different techniques involved in capturing the best moments of every event. I have mostly been working alongside Youth football Scotland, this is an area that is providing the images towards my documentary project. Needing a minimum of 10 shots for my book, I can’t wait for the next game. It becomes a touch addictive having the urge to get the perfect shot, and the chance to capture another picture I can add to my shortlist.

The next week is another busy affair, me and some classmates are heading to the Coatbridge campus on Tuesday. Taking some images in collaboration with the hair and makeup department once again provides valuable experience, it also gives us a chance to grab some pictures that may assist another classes or projects. Wednesday is a wee jaunt intae the toon for some street photography with some fellow students, looking for photojournalistic images will no doubt provide more sair heads for us all. On Thursday we will review last weeks fashion shoot with the Big Man, cant wait to see everyone’s efforts and get the feedback on my own compositions.

Right the F1 highlights are coming on, ave dodged social media for hours to avoid the result so am away to shout at ma tele for a few hours. Thanks again for stopping by.

Craig

Published by Craig J Murray

HND Photography student @ New College Lanarkshire. Looking to blog about some of the Blood, sweat, tears and fun involved as I progress through my course.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started