Documentary

Another area of photography I knew little of but whole heartedly enjoyed covering was documentary photography. Having such a short shooting time frame meant it was always going to be a struggle finding a subject that visually told a story, could be edited and compiled into a printed photobook within 18 weeks.

Grassroots football was my first initial thought on day one of class, but how could I use it as a documentary project. You would struggle to document the changing of the seasons in 18 weeks, how could I capture the changes within a football team in that period. After some discussions with my lecturer I opted to document the different age groups, looking to pick up on wee changes in the game. For example in the under 12’s age range its not unusual to see a player cry on the pitch, either in pain, anger or embarrassment. However as they grow that emotion is supressed, even with a broken bone some players will refuse to “lose face”.  Same with regards to a bad tackle, the younger players will assist and help a player up in an apologetic manner, the older age group tend to just walk away,  as shit happen don’t it.

I also wanted to capture some of the interactions between the coaches, parents and players. It take a lot of work and effort to run and keep a football team in operation , it takes fundraising and a lot of free time from everyone. It’s only fair I include more than the players in this book.

All the games I covered during the production of this book were amazing matches, regardless of the scores. Pissing down with rain on a Sunday morning mid November, freezing cold half frozen pitch -1 on a December morning they players were out in it. Everyone gave it their all and I witnessed some amazing quality football.

I would recommend to anyone to get down and watch some of these type of matches, the passion and skill shown at this level sadly goes missing in the culture of professional football in Scotland. The skill is stifled at the top but at the grass roots level, passion and flair can shine, but be warned a gid auld skelper of a tackle awaits tae if your no careful.

So now my book is finished I want to change it already, I have already updated it adding some more information and an introduction page. And will maybe consider contacting the clubs involved to showcase my work.

Below I have included a few screen shots of my book and layout. Thanks for stopping by.

 

Published by Craig J Murray

HND Photography student @ New College Lanarkshire. Looking to blog about some of the Blood, sweat, tears and fun involved as I progress through my course.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started